2019 All-Alpena News Boys Basketball team

For the second year in a row, Alpena’s Chris DeRocher showed exactly why he was the top player in the area.

DeRocher capped off a stellar four year career for the Wildcats, leading Alpena to a 16-5 record, while breaking the all-time scoring record with 1,624 points, breaking a mark that stood since 1972.

DeRocher led the area averaging 22.9 points per game and averaged 9.6 rebounds per game.

DeRocher received first team all-Big North Conference recognition, along with garnering Division 1 all-state honorable mention recognition for his efforts during his senior season.

DeRocher was one of five members that earned first team all-Alpena News honors.

Posen’s Jared Sharpe, Mio’s Drew Hess, Hillman’s Kory Henigan and Oscoda’s Owen Franklin make up the rest of the first team, with Coach of the Year honors going to Oscoda head coach Seth Alda.

Under Alda, Oscoda stormed through the North Star League on the way to a Big Dipper division title and finished the regular season 20-0. The success didn’t stop there as Oscoda rolled to its first district title in 19 years and ultimately made a regional final appearance. Alda has done a great job building up the Owls program over the last several years and with plenty of talent and solid team chemistry, Oscoda looks primed for future success.

The second team was made up of Antavius Mikazes (Alcona), Jeremy Misiak (Posen), Brayden Mallak (Oscoda), Bruz Copping (Alpena) and Ethan Hincka (Rogers City).

Players receiving honorable mention were: Aidan Goike, Alpena; Jadon Duncan, Alpena; Nic Taratuta, Hillman; Aaron Cuzzort, Atlanta; Nick Freel, Rogers City; Kaleb Budnick, Rogers City; Jeff Ellenberger, Rogers City; Sam Brunet, Posen; Eyan Hincka, Posen; Jager Mix, Onaway; Austin Nash, Onaway; Kevin Pearson, Onaway; Damion Stewart, Alcona; Josh Kilbourn, Alcona; River Waisanen; Brennon Mills, Mio; Gabe Kellstrom, Oscoda; Jacob Post, Oscoda; Grant Lietzke, Fairview