Thunder Bay Firefighters Association honors local fire departments

Courtesy Photo Last month, the Thunder Bay Firefighters Association gave out 22 awards to local and surrounding counties fire departments for their hard work and dedication. Each department had one firefighter receive a merit award — given to firefighters for meritorious action taken during routine emergency operations, when there’s no risk to the firefighter’s life. This award recognizes firefighters who have performed great acts of service in an outstanding manner, including saving lives or preventing major property damage. Merit awards winners included: Long Rapids – Dan Marsh and John Faulman; Posen – Terry Buczkowski; CRTC – Nate Seelye; Alpena City – Doug Keogh; Alpena Township – Josh Greenwell and Jim Stachlewitz; South Shore – Mark Palmer; East Grand Lake – Paul Fournier; Hubbard Lake – Josh Wojda; Alcona Township – Chad Kamiscke; Sanborn – Derek Hart; Wilson Township – Chris Kinsey; Green Township – Dale Sumerix; Hillman – Steve Kazyaka; Rogers City – Ryan Wisely; Presque Isle – Larry LaCross; and Maple Ridge – Ed Hoskinson and Melissa Hoskinson. TBFFA also presented the Fire Chief of the Year award to Alpena Township Fire Chief Mark Hansen. The Firefighter of the Year award was given to Wilson Township Fire/Rescue Jacob Trelfa. The Leadership Award was given to Sanborn Township Fire Department Fire Chief Dale Hart Jr.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today