Local players dot all-NSL hoops teams

After winning another division title and putting together an undefeated regular season, the Hillman boys basketball team had two players named to the North Star League’s first team for the 2015-16 season.

Junior Gunnar Libby and senior Dylan Steinke were named to the first team and were joined by Au Gres’ Tyler Jantzi, Fairview’s Seth Cleeves, Mio’s Ben Lubitz, Posen’s Travis Sharpe and Whittemore-Prescott’s Azaiyah Bell.

The second team consists of Alcona’s Nate Swinson, Hale’s Oliver Rice, Oscoda’s Grant Huebel, Rogers City’s Alex Hincka and Whittemore’s Kyle Colton.

Honorable mentions include: Alcona’s Jordan Steiner, Atlanta’s Austin Corbin, Fairview’s Cam Gingerich, Hale’s Devin Chrivia, Hillman’s Brandon Banks and Kyle McLaren, Mio’s Garrett Anderson, Oscoda’s Nate Nagel, Posen’s Evan Schuch, Rogers City’s Matt Altman and Whittemore’s Tommy Oliver.

Hillman also had two first-team selections for the girls team as Vanessa Schook and Kalen Tchorzynski were picked.

The rest of the first team is: Alcona’s Torie Harmon, Au Gres’ Liz Nelson, Fairview’s Alyson Winton, Mio’s Leslie Asman and Posen’s Jenna Hincka.

Posen’s Cami LaTulip and Sam Lenard led the second team and are joined by Alcona’s Kendra LaFave, Au Gres’ Gina Dewald, Oscoda’s Anna Pike and Rogers City’s Ally Streich.

Honorable mentions include: Alcona’s Taylor Livingston, Atlanta’s Tiffany Juergens, Au Gres’ Kyleigh Gordon, Fairview’s Jenna DeJarlais, Hale’s Olivia Rasch, Hillman’s Morgan Armon, Mio’s Lauren Kuffel, Oscoda’s Katelyn Etherton, Posen’s Kayla Lenard, Rogers City’s Taylor Fleming and Whittemore’s Hailey Hostetler.