Northeast Michigan spring athletes honored

News Photo by James Andersen Hillman’s Jessica Jones fields the ball to record the final out of the Tigers’ 7-4 regional final victory over St. Ignace.

ALPENA — Several area softball players were recently honored by the Michigan High School Softball Coaches Association for the 2021 season.

Rogers City’s Karissa Rabeau and Onaway’s Kyli Brewbaker were both named to the Division 4 first team.

Hillman’s Nicole Barbeau and Rogers City’s Jeffra Dittmar both earned Division 4 honorable mentions.

Additionally, numerous spring sport athletes were honored by the North Star League, Big North Conference and Ski Valley Conference.



Big Dipper First Team

Macy Kellstrom, Oscoda; Karissa Rabeau, Rogers City; Rhea Amrich, Oscoda; Jeffra Dittmar, Rogers City; Kaylen Griggs, Oscoda; Shelby Yoder, Mio; Kaitlin Nowicki, Rogers City; Mia Whipkey, Oscoda; Sage Gauthier, Alcona; Brianne Mcclure, Whittemore-Prescott; Mackenzie Bruning, Rogers City.

Big Dipper Second Team

Reagan McGregor, Mio; Megan Myles, Oscoda; Ashlyn Gordy, Alcona; Chloe Hentkowski, Rogers City; Izzy Hulverson, Oscoda.

Little Dipper First Team

Nicole Barbeau, Hillman; Kennadi Zeien, Au Gres; Makayla Kamyszek, Posen; Allyson Stange, Au Gres; Faith Cousins, Posen; Melanie Morrison, Hillman; Ava Wesner, Posen; Jessica Jones, Hillman; Claudia Cadwell, Hale; Morgan Vance, Hale; Lizzy Romel, Posen.

Little Dipper Second Team

Keagan Skacal, Au Gres; Emily Freehling, Au Gres; Abi Schellie, Posen; Madison Findlay, Au Gres; Madison Kamyszek, Posen.


Big Dipper First Team

Owen Franklin, Oscoda; Evan Fairbanks, Rogers City; Dillon Cook, Rogers City; Jacob Bones, Mio; Gavin Lueck, Oscoda; Caleb Nagel, Oscoda; Zach Stephenson, Alcona; Aaron Mervyn, Whittemore-Prescott; Gavin Walker, Alcona; Jakob Tanner, Alcona; Matt Wilbert, Rogers City.

Big Dipper Second Team

Lewis Kuffel, Mio; Collin Walker, Alcona; Michael Scott, Oscoda; Tyler Demory, Mio; Trever Miller, Oscoda.

Little Dipper First Team

Gage Kangas, Hale; Jaden Dove, Hillman; Brady Firman, Hillman; AJ Jones, Hillman; Lucas Stone, Posen; Sean Henigan, Hillman; Keaton Ludwig, Hale; Trenton Taratuta, Hillman; Chase Dubie, Posen; Cole Pedred, Au Gres; Evan Saunders, Au Gres.

Little Dipper Second Team

Hunter Harmon, Au Gres; Aden Sobeck, Hillman; Brandon Maddox, Hale; Brenden Bernard, Hale; Joey Konieczny, Posen.


Alpena junior Jenna Leeck was named to the all-Big North second team and senior Addi Marceau, juniors Alexis Treinen and Kami Schultz and freshman Reese Wisniewski earned honorable mentions.

Several members of the Alpena baseball team were honored by the Big North Conference.

Outfielder Kaydn Budnick and infielder Travis Weide were named to the first team, infielder Noah Marquardt earned a second team nod and outfielders Alex Cadarette and Matt Thompson earned honorable mentions.

In softball, Allie DeRocher and Emilee Modrzejewski were named to the first team. Sydney Chojnacki was named to the second team and Corine Donajkowski and Sydney Hitzelberger earned honorable mention.


In baseball, Onaway infielder Spencer Nash was a first team selection and utility player Cody Lovelace was also named to the first team.

In softball, Onaway’s Kyli Brewbaker, Ellie Prow and Macie Decker all made the first team. Mackenzie Robbins and Elissa Prow were named to the second team. Breya Domke earned an honorable mention.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today