Local school board ROUNDUP

A roundup of recent activity by Northeast Michigan school boards:

∫ The Alcona Community Schools Board of Education named Ken Chamberlain board president, Gary Sims vice president, Charles Spitznagel secretary, and Joel Blohm treasurer.

The board also hired Angela Breier as a paraprofessional and approved an updated curriculum guide.

∫ The Alpena Public Schools Board of Education adopted new online courses through Lincoln Learning and Edgenuity and a district course catalog that will be posted on the district’s website.

The board also hired Alicia LaCross as a special education teacher at Thunder Bay Junior High School and Besser Elementary School and Shannon Meek as a first-grade teacher at Sanborn Elementary School.

The board also heard that Wilson Elementary School instructional assistant Tracie Schaedig, transportation dispatcher Deborah Walsh, Thunder Bay Junior High School secretary Kimberly Nowak, and Wilson Elementary School secretary Lisa Blumenthal all resigned from the district.

∫ The Hillman Community Schools Board of Education approved up to $60,000 for technology equipment purchases using sinking fund money. The sinking fund is a property tax-supported account used for facilities and equipment.

The board also named Kelly Burwell board president, Jack Matthias vice president, Donna Tucker secretary, and Leslie Cook treasurer.

The board also accepted the resignation of Cody Allen as varsity track coach, Lisa Zimmer as elementary paraprofessional, Laurie Nugent as high school English teacher and junior high track coach, and Lorilee McGee as a board member.

The board also hired Kimberly Weiland as a seventh-grade volleyball coach, Leafa Wroblewski as an elementary school three-hour paraprofessional, and Jamie Karshina as a secondary school english teacher.

∫ The Posen Consolidated Schools Board of Education named Ken Wozniak board president, Andy Stone vice president, Danielle Kowalski secretary, and Dennis Budnick treasurer.

Meetings will be held at 6:30 p.m. on the second Monday of every month.

∫ The Rogers City Area Schools Board of Education named Devin Pommerenke board president, Diane Schultz vice president, the Rev. Greg Zurakowski secretary, Ivy Cook treasurer, and Larry Budnick assistant secretary/treasurer. Budnick serves when either Zurakowski or Cook are absent from board meetings.

The board scheduled meetings for 6:30 p.m. on the second Monday of every month, with workshops to be held at the same time on Aug. 24 and Nov. 23.

∫ The Alpena-Montmorency-Alcona Educational Service District Board of Education approved a $46,000 contract with architectural firm OHM Architects to develop a plan for facilities improvements at Pied Piper School.

The board designated Director of Special Education Mary Zann and Mandy Canute, executive administrative assistant and human resources coordinator, as District 504 Compliance and American with Disabilities Act coordinators.

The board also approved a 2019-20 budget amendment increasing estimated general fund revenues by $659,659 and expenses by $621,759, meaning the general fund cash reserves are expected to increase to $876,937. The changes were necessary because the district received grants.