Alpena Sports Hall of Fame seeking nominations

News Photo by James Andersen After more than two years of waiting, the Alpena Sports Hall of Fame honored its Class of 2019, Boosters of the Year, and Team of the Year during its 37th annual banquet on Saturday at the APlex. The Class of 2019 included Bruce VanderWall, Terry Thomas and Tom Lavoie, Shannon Woloszyk, Eric Puls, Bob Kelley, and Jim Hubert. Additionally, the 2010 Alpena School baseball team was honored as Team of the Year, and Joyce Gohlke and Jim Townsend were honored as Boosters of the Year.

Are you a voting member of the Alpena Sports Hall of Fame Association? Do you know an athlete that you think should be in the Alpena Sports Hall of Fame?

If so, the Hall of Fame Board wants to hear from you.

The Board is seeking athlete nominations from voting members for ballot consideration before the class of 2022 is selected.

An athlete must be removed from being an active competitor in their sport and their accomplishments and contact information must be filled out on a Hall of Fame form.

In addition to the form being found on the Alpena Sports Hall of Fame Facebook page, you may also pick one up from The Alpena News or Jimmie Garant’s Party Store.

Completed nomination forms will be accepted until August 31, 2022. Forms should be mailed to Alpena Sports Hall of Fame, PO Box 354, Alpena, Michigan, 49707.

Forms can also be given directly to a member of the Board including Liz Klemens, Mike Kollien, Mark Jacobs, Cindy DeRocher, Nancy Garant, Phil Schultz, Trevor Roznowski or Chuck PIontkowski.

Once nominations are in, the board votes on those nominees to be included on the ballot which is sent to the Association members for the final selection of those for enshrinement.

If you’d like to join the Alpena Sports Hall of Fame to become a voting member, you can do so via the Alpena Sports Hall of Fame Facebook page or reach out to Liz Klemens at lizzielou7456@gmail.com.

The 38th annual banquet will take place at the APlex on May 6, 2023.

In May, the Hall of Fame inducted its Class of 2019 after a two-year wait due to coronavirus restrictions. The class included:

∫ Eric Puls

∫ Shannon Woloszyk

∫ Terry Thomas and Tom Lavoie

∫ James Hubert

∫ Bob Kelley and

∫ Bruce Vanderwall

Additionally, Jim Townsend and Joyce Gohlke were honored as Boosters of the Year and Alpena’s 2010 district champion baseball team was honored as the Team of the Year.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today