Alpena county deputies are awarded for hard work

Courtesy Photo Deputies from the Alpena County Sheriff’s Office stand together on Monday after receiving awards during a second annual award ceremony.

On Monday, the Alpena County Sheriff’s Office held its second annual Awards Ceremony.

The following individuals received awards:

Corporal Brandon Sandula — Commendation of Service

Corporal Kerry Volant — Commendation of Service and Life Saving Award

Correction Deputy Josh Lefebvre — Life Saving Award

Sergeant Christina Bednarski — Commendation of Service

Corrections Deputy Terri Haken — Corrections Deputy of the Year 2023

Deputy Zachary Suszek — Deputy of the Year 2023

Victim Services Unit:

Tathia Lockhart — 13 Years of Service Award

Jim Seguin — 27 Years of Service Award

Jerry Broad — 27 Years of Service Award

Jerome Smigelski — 27 Years of Service Award

Catie Hunault — 27 Years of Service Award

Sue Jackson — 27 Years of Service Award

Diane Sims — 27 Years of Service Award

The Sheriff’s Office Victims Service Unit is comprised of a highly trained group of volunteers, who selflessly respond and assist the community through difficult times. They assist victims through tough times of need or help individuals through traumatic events. Often they are requested by local emergency response agencies to assist in a variety of ways.

Sheriff Erik Smith stated, that every day great things are being accomplished at the Sheriff’s Office by some exceptional people and it is a great honor to recognize a few of these individuals for their outstanding performance and accomplishments.

Toward the end of the ceremony, Undersheriff Cash Kroll surprised Sheriff Smith with a Commendation of Service Award. Kroll highlighted some of Smith’s accomplishments in leadership and dedication to Alpena County.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today