Klemens takes over as Alpena Sports Hall of Fame president


ALPENA — Longtime Alpena athletics supporter and Alpena Sports Hall of Fame board member Liz Klemens has been named the Hall of Fame’s new president.

Klemens takes over the position after longtime Hall of Fame president Gary Mischley recently announced his retirement from the role after nearly 40 years. Klemens is just the second president in the Hall of Fame’s history.

“I’m excited and nervous. Gary has been at this for years and (has) done a tremendous job,” Klemens said. “I have big shoes to fill, but I’m ready to give it a try with the support I have in the community.”

Klemens is no stranger to local athletics or to the Hall of Fame. She was honored in 2010 by the Hall of Fame as one of its Boosters of the Year. In addition to being an Alpena athletic supporter, she coached Alpena’s cheerleading team for a decade and led her teams to several championships, including three state titles.

She’s served on the Hall of Fame board for three years.

Though details are still being worked out, Klemens said there are plans for a Hall of Fame induction banquet on May 7, 2022. The banquet — which is traditionally held on the first Saturday in May — hasn’t taken place since 2019 in large part because of COVID-19 concerns.

The Class of 2019, who will be honored at the 2022 banquet, includes:

∫ Eric Puls, a former Alpena High basketball star, who went on to play for the University of Michigan.

∫ Shannon Woloszyk, a former Alpena High softball star, who went on to play at Alma College.

∫ Terry Thomas and Tom Lavoie, former Alpena High girls basketball coaches, who led the Wildcats to two regional championships.

∫ James Hubert, a former Alpena Catholic Central basketball player, baseball player and longtime coach.

∫ Bob Kelley, a multi-sport athlete at Alpena High, who also starred in slow pitch softball and speed skating before getting into coaching.

∫ Bruce Vanderwall, a former Alpena High basketball star, who was a leading scorer for the Wildcats in the late 1960s.

Additionally, Jim Townsend and Joyce Gohlke will be honored as Boosters of the Year and Alpena’s 2010 district champion baseball team will be honored as the Team of the Year.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today