2021 fishing season starts April 1
While anglers prepare their gear and equipment for spring fishing, there’s another key thing to remember: a 2021 fishing license.
The new license sales began March 1 for the season kicking off on April 1. Michigan’s annual fishing license is valid from March 1 of a given year through March 31 the following year. Purchase licenses online at Michigan.gov/DNRLicenses.
License options include:
Annual all-species resident: $26.
Annual all-species nonresident: $76.
Annual all-species senior: $11 (65 and older or legally blind, Michigan residents only).
Annual all-species youth: $2 (voluntary license for residents or nonresidents under the age of 17).
Daily all-species resident or nonresident: $10/day (you set the date/time for license to start).
Michigan law requires people 17 or older to purchase a fishing license before fishing in public waters. Those under 17 may fish without a license but must observe all fishing rules and regulations.
New this year: Anglers 16 or younger can purchase a voluntary youth all-species license. Any adult actively assisting a youth angler must have a fishing license.
New to fishing? Check out our how-to videos for safety and fishing tips at Michigan.gov/HowToFish.
For more information on licenses and regulation changes, check out the Michigan Fishing Guide –available at license retailers or online at Michigan.gov/DNRDigests. The 2021 guide will be available online April 1 and will be valid through March 31, 2022. The online version of the current guide is always up to date and available to download.