VanWagoner gets 1% pay hike


ALPENA — Alpena Public Schools Superintendent John VanWagoner on Monday received a 1% raise for the upcoming school year, with a chance to earn a 2% hike depending on how much money the state gives schools in its budget.

Since the district Board of Education rated VanWagoner highly effective in his evaluation in December, the board approved a one-year extension for him during Monday’s meeting, which VanWagoner said is a procedural item for the board every year.

In 2018, VanWagoner earned $194,256 in total compensation, which included a salary of $137,930. The 1% raise is to the salary.

If the state adds at least $100 per pupil to schools’ revenue next school year, he’ll receive an additional 1%. He said his compensation is very similar to the teacher’s contracts.

“I’ve been blessed in my three years here to just have outstanding board members in every seat for the three years and just really appreciate the opportunity and looking forward to getting started on the next school year,” VanWagoner said.

VanWagoner has been with the district since summer 2016.

“To get an opportunity for a fourth (year) is just the dedication of the people, the staff that I work with and do great things for the kids,” VanWagoner said. “I can’t do this by myself by any stretch of the imagination, so a lot of credit goes to all those teachers and staff and secretaries and custodians and bus mechanics and bus drivers and all of our support staff.”

Julie Goldberg can be reached at 989-358-5688 or jgoldberg@thealpenanews.com. Follow her on Twitter @jkgoldberg12.

In other business

The Alpena Public Schools Board of Education on Monday also

∫ appointed Stephanie Shafto to the board.

∫ approved breakfast prices of $1.75 for elementary and secondary, elementary lunch price of $2.85, and secondary lunch price of $3.10 for the 2019-20 school year.

∫ established the debt retirement tax levy for the 2019 tax levy as 1.8 mills.

∫ hired Melissa Guy as executive director for human resources and labor relations, effective July 1.