Alpena 50-year LWV members honored

Courtesy Photo League of Women Voters of Alpena members who received 50-year membership recognition, from left to right, are Marion Dunckel, Florence Stibitz, Vernie Nethercut, and Sue Maxell. Missing is Dolly Zeller.

The League of Women Voters of Alpena County (LWV) held its annual membership meeting at Alpena Community College on May 21.

Five members received certificates of recognition for 50 years of membership: Marion Dunckel, Florence Stibitz, Vernie Nethercut, Sue Maxell, and Dolly Zeller. Pauline Buchner and Doris Feys were newly elected to serve as LWV co-presidents. Rose Frost, Dottie Haase, Mary O’Neil, Sue Maxwell and Anne Nave were elected to serve on the board, and MaryAnn Crawford was elected as co-secretary. Returning board members include vice president Trina Borenstein, treasurer Jennifer Dutcher, co-secretary Ann Hardesty and board member Nethercut.

For the annual meeting program, LWV member Sue Maxwell described the historical development of Negwegon State Park and the pivotal role played by the Alpena LWV. Eric Ostrander, DNR supervisor, informed guests and members of Negwegon’s present and current policies.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)