Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

RC, Onaway softball combine for 12 all-district selections

June 12, 2012
The Alpena News

The Rogers City and Onaway softball teams combined to make up all the selections for a Division 4 all-district team.

For Rogers City, pitcher Melissa Pomranke, outfielders Nikkie LaLonde and Rebecca Meredith and infielder Logan Fleming were selected after the Hurons won their first district title since 2004. Coach Karl Grambau was named District Coach of the Year.

Pomranke was named as Straits Area Conference Player of the Year and was one of three Hurons named to the all-conference first team along with LaLonde and Fleming. Team captain Linnea Brege and Courtney Streich were named to the second team.

The Cardinals, who finished as the district runner-up, had eight players named to the all district team. They included: infielders Molly Cleaver, Megan Estep and Temara Lupu, catcher Sam Brasseur, outfielder Sam Freel, pitcher Emily Estep, designated player Faith Chapman and utility player Brooke Szymoniak.

Onaway led the area with five selections to the all-region team. Those selections were: Freel, Brasseur, Megan Estep, Emily Estep, and Chapman.

Rogers City and Posen each had three players chosen. Infielder Anna Couture, pitcher Ashley Meyers and utility player Emily Delekta were chosen for the Vikings. LaLonde, Fleming and Pomranke were chosen for Rogers City.

Hillman had two players selected, outfielder Rachael Mayes and utility player Morgan Hardies.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web