Harrison named Division 7-8 Player of Year

RC LB Budnick gets first team nod; Oscoda’s Franklin an honorable mention

Kaleb Budnick

FLINT (AP) — Aidan Harrison grew up in Flushing and spent his first three years of high school there playing football, basketball and running track.

But Harrison always wanted to play football at nearby New Lothrop, a smaller school about 10 miles west of Flushing. His parents went to New Lothrop, his grandfather spent 30 years running the clock at Hornets’ games and he attended his first game at New Lothrop, where he spent many weekends.

When Harrison’s parents got the opportunity to purchase land in New Lothrop last summer, they jumped at the opportunity and that allowed Harrison to fulfill a lifelong dream, one that had a storybook ending when he helped the Hornets (13-1) win the Division 7 state championship.

The Missouri recruit excelled on both sides of the ball and was rewarded for his outstanding season by being named The Associated Press Division 7-8 Player of the Year.

“It’s unbelievable,” said the 6-foot-3, 190-pound Harrison, who will be a defensive back at Missouri. “It was crazy. We started rolling and then once Week 9 hit and we got our loss (at Traverse City St. Francis), we took a step back and realized where we were and after that it kind of flew by.”

Owen Franklin

On offense, Harrison racked up 1,144 total yards and 25 touchdowns as a wide receiver and running back. He rushed for 766 yards and 17 touchdowns while adding 479 receiving yards and eight TDs.

During a 50-44 victory over Madison Heights Madison in the highest-scoring championship game in Michigan High School Athletic Association history, he opened the scoring with a 34-yard touchdown run before returning a kick 96 yards for another TD. He finished with 197 all-purpose yards.

Harrison also played the final three games of the season with a broken right hand.

“He showed everyone on the field what kind of athlete he is but I think what a lot of people don’t know is the non-athlete Aidan,” said Clint Galvas, the Division 7-8 co-Coach of the Year. “That’s what I feel is as important as the athletic side, the leadership and character he brought to our team. Day 1, when he came over here toward the end of June, it was just incredible how he fit in with everyone.

“He was one of those kids you felt like you knew your whole life. He really embraced the brotherhood of our team. Here’s a guy who was with our team for five or six weeks and he was voted a team captain. He’s a great role model. I have a 9-year-old son who loves him to death. He draws pictures of Aidan.”

Joining Harrison on the first team were New Lothrop teammates Avery Moore and Allan Jamick.

Rounding out the first team were Austin Brown and Chauncey Ernest of Madison Heights Madison; Kendel Taylor and Klayton Cornell of Madison Heights Bishop Foley; Ethan LoPresto, Nick Affholter and Ben Affholter of Reading; Cameron Wirth, John Martin and Alec Thelen of Pewamo-Westphalia; Ridge Schutte of Whittemore-Prescott; Josh Cox of Ravenna; Earnest Sanders of Flint Beecher; Victor Nelson of Detroit Central; Tyson Claeys of Johannesburg-Lewiston; Reid Marshall of St. Ignace; Schriver Miller of Breckenridge; Mike McLeod of Lake City; Kaleb Budnick of Rogers City; Daniel Smith of Carson City-Crystal; Rayvon Williamson of Detroit Community; Adam LeGault of Elkton-Pigeon-Bay Port; Aaron Herron of Holton; Tyrese Hunt-Thompson of Cassopolis; and Evan Orme of Riverview Gabriel Richard.

The other Division 7-8 co-Coach of the Year is Kris Robinson of Breckenridge.


Michigan AP Division 7-8 Football All-State List

By The Associated Press

The 2018 Division 7-8 Associated Press All-State football team, selected by a panel of 11 Michigan sports writers:


Aidan Harrison, New Lothrop, Sr.



Avery Moore, New Lothrop, Jr.

Austin Brown, Madison Heights Madison, Sr.


Kendel Taylor, Madison Heights Bishop Foley, Sr.

Ethan LoPresto, Reading, Sr.

Cameron Wirth, Pewamo-Westphalia, Sr.

Ridge Schutte, Whittemore-Prescott, Sr.


Josh Cox, Ravenna, Jr.

Klayton Cornell, Madison Heights Bishop Foley, Jr.

Aidan Harrison, New Lothrop, Sr.

Earnest Sanders, Flint Beecher, Jr.


Victor Nelson, Detroit Central, Sr.

Chauncey Ernest, Madison Heights Madison, Sr.

Nick Affholter, Reading, Jr.

Tyson Claeys, Johannesburg-Lewiston, Sr.

John Martin, Pewamo-Westphalia, Jr.

Allan Jamick, New Lothrop, Sr.

Reid Marshall, St. Ignace, Jr.

Schriver Miller, Breckenridge, Sr.


Mike McLeod, Lake City, Sr.

Kaleb Budnick, Rogers City, Sr.

Daniel Smith, Carson City-Crystal, Sr.

Ben Affholter, Reading, Jr.


Rayvon Williamson, Detroit Community, Sr.

Adam LeGault, Elkton-Pigeon Bay Port Laker, Sr.

Aaron Herron, Holton, Sr.


Tyrese Hunt-Thompson, Cassopolis, Sr.


Alec Thelen, Pewamo-Westphalia, Sr.


Evan Orme, Riverview Gabriel Richard, Sr.


Kris Robinson, Breckenridge

Clint Galvas, New Lothrop

SECOND-TEAM ALL-STATE (nominees receiving two or more votes from the voting panel)


Jake Burger, Pittsford, Sr.

Brad Dunn, Saugatuck, Sr.




Nino Mastromatteo, Clarkston Everest Collegiate, Sr.

Devan Davis, Lake City, Sr.


Derrick Harrmon, Detroit Loyola, So.

Derek Pouch, Holton, Sr.

Cam Corso, Madison Heights Madison, Jr.

DeShaun Williams, Ottawa Lake Whiteford, Sr.

Hunter Majeur, Climax-Scotts, Sr.

Nate Knapp, Lake City, Sr.


Jake Pung, Pewamo-Westphalia, Jr.

Hunter Parsons, Cassopolis, Sr.

Vince Oliver, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes, Sr.

Adam Long, Madison Heights Madison, Jr.


Jacob Larrison, Centreville, Sr.

Adam Baker, Adrian Lenawee Christian, Jr.

Angelo Scafone, Auburn Hills Oakland Christian, Jr.



Mack Young, North Muskegon; Terrence Ealy, Detroit Central; Matt Holt, Lake City; Gavin Sundberg, Ishpeming; Carter Staley, Breckenridge; Sandyn Cuthrell, Cass City; Brayden Mallak, Oscoda; Braden Mussat, Madison Heights Bishop Foley.


Logan Murphy, Ottawa Lake Whiteford; D’Vaun Bentley, Detroit Loyola; Orlando Clarkston, Detroit Central; Josh Legg, Clarkston Everest Collegiate; Alec Muck, Sand Creek; Brady Jackson, Saranac; Drew Stout, Carson City-Crystal; Devin Pfaff, Harbor Beach; Jackson Wells, Harbor Springs; Thomas Pastell, Roscommon; Preston Warren, Elkton-Pigeon Bay Port Laker; Ricky Lindsay, Brown City; Ethan Lemke, Ubly; Conner Gettel, Unionville-Sebewaing; Giovanni Weeks, Kent City; Dan Roman, Royal Oak Shrine.


Zac Clark, Britton Deerfield; Owen Franklin, Oscoda.


Maurice Davenport, Detroit Community; Nevin Hughes, Riverview Gabriel Richard; EyQuan Cobb, Detroit Central; Connor Brodie, Clinton; Jackson Marsh, Sand Creek; Justin Norgan, Centreville; Kyle Hebner, Harbor Springs; Jared Thelen, Pewamo-Westphalia; Austin Zank, Vermontville Maple Valley; Jayson Tunstall, New Lothrop; Cole Broekhuizen, Saginaw Michigan Lutheran Seminary; Brody Eastin, Saginaw Michigan Lutheran Seminary, Jimmy Benkert, Saginaw Nouvel; Lucas Carlson, Merrill; Justin Pratt, Roscommon; Ben Kreger, Sandusky; Blake Smithers, Elkton-Pigeon Bay Port Laker; Evan Smaglinski, Harbor Beach.


Jameson Chesser, Adrian Lenawee Christian; Sam Cousino, Monroe St. Mary’s; Trevor Salani, Manton; Conner Smith, Frankfort; Maurice Hutchinson, Sterling Heights Parkway Christian; Jared Checkley, Decatur; Seth Schafer, Beal City; Jake Brown, St. Louis; Max Thomas, Roscommon.




Lukas Ebright, Breckenridge; Larson Kever, Union City; TJ McKenzie, North Muskegon; Jus’Tyz Tuggle, Detroit Central.


Kendall Genter, Harbor Beach; Mika Schwab, Lake City.




Kyle Smith, Lake City; Dan Purlee, Cassopolis; Bill Wilharms, Adrian Lenawee Christian; Brian Barnes, Madison Heights Bishop Foley; Jack Nummerdor, Holton; John Callahan, Detroit Loyola; Del Humphrey, Detroit Community.