2017 All-Alpena News 8-Player Football Team

The 2017 season proved to be an exciting one for the Atlanta football team.

The Huskies ushered in their first season of eight-player football on a winning note. After more than two years with a win, the Huskies won their first two games and went on to finish the regular season 5-4.

With the chance to compete on a level playing field, the Huskies got a chance to showcase their talent and made the postseason for the first time since 2013 after qualifying for the Division II eight-player playoffs.

At the center of Atlanta’s success in 2017 was Austin Corbin.

As a three-year starter, Corbin has seen the highs and lows of Atlanta football, but in 2017 Corbin took his game to another level. Corbin led the area in passing with 1,289 yards and completed 57 percent of his passes while throwing 14 touchdowns against three interceptions. He made plays on the ground as well, rushing for 108 yards and four touchdowns. He also earned second team Midwest Central Michigan Eight-Man Conference honors.

For his leadership abilities, his experience and his stellar season, Corbin has been chosen as the 2017 Alpena News Player of the Year on the inaugural All-Alpena News Eight-Player Football Team.

Corbin is one of six Atlanta players to be chosen on this year’s team. The area’s leading receiver Reece Wood and lineman Tanner Sayles joined Corbin on offense and on defense, lineman Manny Diaz and linebackers Hunter Reeves and Dallas Robertson were selected.

Posen also had six players chosen for the team. Mark Wisniewski, who ran for 1,075 yards and 14 touchdowns was chosen at running back and Levi Romel was chosen on the offensive line for the third time in his career. On the defensive end, the area’s leading tackler, Brady Chojnacki, was selected at linebacker and was joined by lineman Gage Kazubowski and defensive backs Andrew Hall and Dylan Schuch, who was also a repeat All-Alpena News pick.

Onaway rounded out the team with four selections. Lucas Tollini joined Wisniewski at running back and Nick Byrne was chosen at wide receiver. Kyle Humphrey was selected on the offensive line and Robert Niester was selected as a defensive lineman.