2017 All-Alpena News 11-Player Football Team

After a solid 2016 season, the Alcona football team’s 2017 season was even better.

By the end of the season, Alcona added another stellar chapter its history: a 9-3 record, a new single-season record for points, a North Star League Big Dipper division title, two playoff wins and the program’s first district title.

Leading the charge for the Tigers was Tim Hutchinson.

With Alcona’s backfield in need of a leader, Hutchinson and his brother Jack stepped up and ended their Alcona careers on a high note. Tim Hutchinson found the end zone 26 times while leading the area with 214 carries and 1,949 rushing yards; an average of 9.1 yards per carry. He was a go-to player in the postseason as well, catching a crucial touchdown pass against Johannesburg-Lewiston and rushing for three scores against Au Gres.

Tim Hutchinson was one of several playmakers on a talented team, but his senior season was nonetheless impressive. After earning first team all-North Star League honors and an all-state honorable mention, Hutchinson will add another honor to his season as he has been chosen as the 2017 Player of the Year on the All-Alpena News 11-Player Football Team.

Hutchinson joins former Alcona running backs Nathan Fettes and Brock Franklin as Player of the Year selections.

Tim Hutchinson is one of seven Alcona players selected to this year’s team. Jack Hutchinson joined him at running back and two-time all-stater Devon Mills was selected on the offensive line. He was joined on the line by two-time all-Alpena News pick Cody Schram and Jacob Schott. On defense, lineman Jaden Bartz was selected after being an all-area pick on offense last year. Defensive back Alex Stephenson rounds out Alcona’s selections.

After making the playoffs for the 12th straight season, Hillman had six players selected. Quarterback Kyler Moir was selected and wide receiver Billy Kolcan was an all-area selection for the third time in his career and second straight season at wideout. On the offensive line, Wyatt Barrie and Gabe Cordes were chosen. Caine Hunt earned a second straight all-area defensive selection and Matt Hunt was selected at linebacker.

Oscoda had five players selected after a season where the Owls earned a playoff berth. Wide receiver Grant Huebel was selected and Jacob Condor and Kam Wheeler where both chosen on the defensive line. Travis Lamrock and Braeden Barnes were both chosen at linebacker.

Running back Logan Guthrie was a repeat all-area pick and led a group of four Alpena selections. The Wildcats’ leading tackler Eric Troy was selected at linebacker and Alex Arch and Robert Sheldon were both selected at defensive back.