North Star League names all-league teams

After winning to another North Star League division title, the Hillman girls basketball team led the all-conference selections for the 2016-17 season.

Guards Vanessa Schook and Lyndsey Ryba earned first team honors after leading the Tigers to a Big Dipper division title and a regional semifinal. The duo averaged 16.1 and 12.2 points per game respectively and helped the Tigers win 21 games in a row.

Joining the pair on the first team are: Alcona’s Taylor Livingston, Au Gres’ Gina Dewald, Fairview’s Alyson Winton, Posen’s Cami LaTulip and Rogers City’s Taylor Fleming.

Second team selections include: Alcona’s Brittany Decker, Fairview’s Andrea Ford, Hale’s Olivia Rasch, Oscoda’s Katelyn Etherton, Rogers City’s Kayla Rabeau and Whittemore-Prescott’s Brooke Kile.

Players who earned an honorable mention include: Alcona’s Kendra LaFave, Atlanta’s Tiffany Juergens, Au Gres’ Rachel Hively, Fairview’s Jenna DeJarlais, Hale’s Taylor Pelton, Hillman’s Morgan Armon, Mio’s Emily Mangutz, Oscoda’s Lauren Langley, Posen’s Brooke Ciarkowski, Rogers City’s Hannah Fleming and Whittemore’s Hailey Hostetler.

On the boys team, Hillman, Whittemore, Fairview and Au Gres’ led the all-conference selections with three players each.

Hillman’s Gunnar Libby, who helped the Tigers win a Big Dipper title. His teammates Brandon Banks and Kory Henigan earned second team and honorable mention honors respectively.

The rest of the first team includes: Au Gres’ Trent Jantz, Fairview’s Tylor Ross, Hale’s Oliver Rice, Oscoda’s Grant Huebel, Rogers City’s Brendan Koss and Whittemore’s Azaiyah Bell.

Joining Banks on the second team are: Alcona’s Jordan Steiner, Au Gres’ Cade Steelman, Fairview’s Seth Cleeves and Whittemore’s Kyle Colton.

Joining Henigan among the honorable mentions are: Alcona’s Antavius Mikazes, Atlanta’s Austin Corbin, Au Gres’ Caden Zeien, Fairview’s Drake Willobee, Hale’s Joseph Kimmerer, Mio’s Reilly McMaster, Oscoda’s Brayden Mallak, Posen’s Jared Sharpe, Rogers City’s Jake Hilla and Whittemore’s Shawn Edmonds.