Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Area teams earn NSL football honors

October 31, 2012
The Alpena News

The Atlanta football team had more than 10 players named to the North Star League All-Conference teams after results were recently announced.

Hillman had eight players selected and Mio had four.

Atlanta's Garrett Badgero and Mio's Bryson Devers were named first-team quarterbacks. Badgero threw for an area-best 1882 yards and 25 touchdowns. Devers split time with Brad Rhoads under center for the Thunderbolts and threw for 181 yards and two scores.

Article Photos

Garrett Badgero

At running back, Atlanta's Josh Barrett (466 yards on 81 carries and three touchdown) and Mio's Aaron Wood (101 carries for 735 yards and nine touchdowns) were named to the first team. Atlanta's Jason Ferguson (75 carries for 413 yards and three touchdowns) was named to the second team.

After leading the area with 594 yards receiving and 11 touchdowns, Atlanta's Jake Chambers was named to the first team. Hillman's Dylan Ross was also a first-teamer. Mio's Seth Thomey (17 catches for 330 yards and three touchdowns) and Atlanta's Jered Teets were named to the second team.

On the offensive line, Atlanta's Caleb Cumper, Hillman's Brendan Zimmer and Mio's Nick Mangutz garnered first-team honors. Atlanta's Brock Baum and Shelby Rankin and Hillman's Devin Wojan were chosen to the second team. Cody Ryczek and Jake Wojtoviets from Atlanta each earned an honorable mention.

On the defensive line, Ryczek and Cumper were named to the first team. Wojan and David Olschanski were chosen for Hillman. Wojotoviets, Zimmer and Ferguson all earned second-team nods.

Baum, Devers and Hillman's Michael Olschanski were chosen as first-team linebackers and Atlanta's Seth Teets got a second-team nod.

In the secondary, Chambers, Thomey and Hillman's Michael Klein were selected to the first team.

For at-large selections, Klein was named to the first team offense, Mangutz was named to the first-team defense and Hillman's Travis Powers earned a second-team defensive nod.

On special teams, Badgero and Hillman's Josh Reinbold grabbed first-team honors.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web