Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Rogers City youth theatre program to do 'Willy Wonka, Jr.'

August 22, 2011
The Alpena News

The Rogers City Community Theatre's summer youth theatre program is presenting "Willy Wonka, Jr." The show runs Thursday through Saturday at 7:30 p.m. and Sunday at 2 p.m.

Roald Dahl's timeless story of the world famous candy man and his quest to find an heir comes to life in this stage adaptation of "Charlie and The Chocolate Factory." It features the songs from the classic family film, "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory." The memorable score features "The Candy Man." "Pure Imagination," "Oompa Loompa" and "I Want it Now" by Academy and Grammy Award winners Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley, as well as many new songs.

The production will incorporate elements from the book as well as the movies to create its own unique version of this magical show.

Article Photos

The cast for 'Willy Wonka Jr.'

The cast and crew, ranging in age from 6-15, features 33 local performers, as well as three student technicians running the lights and sound. Directed by Heather Nordenbrock and Assistant Director/Stage Manager Kelly Fielder, the show also features a set designed by Karl W. Heidemann and costumes by Val Schalk.

Donna Klein pulls double duty as the producer and music director. Morgan Suszek serves as choreographer. Andrea Schulwitz and Mike Marx illuminate the stage with their lighting design.

Tickets are $10 for adults, $9 for seniors and $6 for students. The tickets can be purchased at the Presque Isle County Advance, Rogers City Chamber of Commerce or at the door.

There is no reserved seating and doors will open at 7 p.m. Thursday-Saturday and 1:30 p.m. on Sunday.

Participants in the production are: Carly Rasper, Bradley Michael Heidemann, Emilee Madison, Karl A. Heidemann, Jade Shadbolt, Elaina Madison, Salena Heidemann, Joshua Alexander, Ashley Bunton, Alyssa Sedwick, Ava Star Kelly, Grace Darga, Skylar Clark, Kaylee Fenstermaker, Demi-Jo Flewelling, Drew Flewelling, Linnea Rose Hentkowski, Kyley LaFleche, Baylee Lijewski, Andrea Madison, Ashley Nowicki, Caitlynn Shadbolt, Madison Thornton, Cheyenne Bober, Elle Bredow, Mackenzie Bruning, Caden Fenstermaker, Chloe Hentkowski, Grace LaLonde, Colby Nordenbrock, Lily Nordenbrock, Aaron Smith, Madison Tulgetska, Alysse Hemple, Raelyn Hoeft, and Amber Nowicki.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web