Optimist Club of Alpena installs officers, names Optimists of the Year

Courtesy Photos Optimist Board members sworn in at a recent installation banquet are, from left, Chuck Beal, Dana Howard, Pat Pfeifer, Pete Wilson, Amy Dodge, Marlin Dorr, Brooke Mainville and Ed Hoskinson.

The Optimist Club of Alpena held its 58th annual installation banquet recently at the John A. Lau Saloon in Alpena. The 2016-17 Club President, Mark Hulsey, spoke on the past year, saying it was a good year for the Alpena Optimists. He thanked all the local businesses in the Alpena area that regularly donate to the club and talked about the importance of the Optimist Club’s presence in the community as well as the dedication to helping the youth of the area.

Along with the installation of the new board and officers, five new members were inducted. Visiting Michigan District Assistant Gov. Chuck Snyder presided over the induction ceremony for new members Brooke Mainville, Cal Howard, Robert and Patricia Ahlgren, and Sue Platt.

Mainville is a recent graduate of Saginaw Valley State University and is employed at the Boys and Girls Club of Alpena. Howard is a local musician who has lived in Alpena for most of his adult life. The Ahlgrens are recent retirees from Alpena who are looking for ways to help in their community. Platt is pastor of Alpena First United Methodist Church and a past member of the Bay City Noon Optimist Club before relocating to Alpena.

Optimist of the Year Award went to the husband and wife team of Robert and Patricia Ahlgren. Since joining the club in the spring of 2017 the Ahlgrens have participated in almost all the Optimist events and been a great help to the club.

The President’s Citation Award went to Dana Howard. Howard is a long time member of the Optimists and organizes the Rubber Duck Race, runs the Optimist concession trailer at the Alpena County Fair and is always there to help with any other task.

Optimist President Mark Hulsey, left, congratulates Robert and Patricia Ahlgren on their Optimist of the Year Award.

The new officers sworn in at the banquet were 2017-18 Club President Mark Hulsey, Vice President Jim Seguin, Treasurer Sue Platt and Secretary Beckie Thomson. Board members serving the second year of their two-year terms are Chuck Beal, Dana Howard, Jim Mott, Pat Pfeifer and Pete Wilson. Board members inducted for two-year terms are Steve Barber, Amy Dodge, Marlin Dorr, Richard George and Brooke Mainville.